Derby Wharf Light Station
The Derby Wharf Light Station was constructed in 1871 to better assist ships entering Salem Harbor. The lighthouse features a unique square design, and is only about 20 feet tall. The National Park Service gained ownership of the lighthouse in 1977, and today NPS rangers at the Salem Maritime National Historic Site are available to provide additional information about the light station. The interior of the lighthouse is not open to the public, however the exterior is accessible via a scenic walk to the end of Derby Wharf.